Primary elections are Aug. 14

Tuesday, Aug. 14, is the day of Connecticut’s Democratic and Republican primary elections, during which Stratford voters registered with one of the two major parties will have the opportunity to vote for their party’s 2018 general election candidates.

Stratford voters who are registered with a major party, are United States citizens and will be at least 18 years old by Nov. 6 are eligible to vote at their designated polling places from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. the day of the primaries.

Stratford’s 10 polling places — one for each voting district — are

  • 1st District – Lordship Elementary School
  • 2nd District – Stratford Town Hall Council Chambers (relocated from Stratford High School due to SHS renovations)
  • 3rd District – Stratford Academy Johnson House
  • 4th District – Franklin Elementary School
  • 5th District – Nichols Elementary School
  • 6th District – Wooster Middle School
  • 7th District – Wilcoxson Elementary School
  • 8th District – Chapel Street Elementary School
  • 9th District – Bunnell High School
  • 10th District – Second Hill Lane Elementary School


A voter look-up service and a map of Stratford’s districts can be accessed from the Registrar of Voters page at

Connecticut has a closed primary system, which means only registered members of the either the Democratic or Republican party may vote in their respective party’s primary.

When it’s time to vote, voters may choose only one candidate for each office on the ballot. There is no write-in voting at primaries.


Seven candidates — five Republicans and two Democrats — are vying to succeed Democrat Dannel Malloy as governor of Connecticut.

The gubernatorial candidates on the Democratic primary ballot are Ned Lamont and Joe Ganim, while the candidates on the Republican ballot are Mark Boughton, Timothy Herbst, Steve Obsitnik, Bob Stefanowski, and David Stemerman.

Lieutenant governor

Three Republicans and two Democrats are seeking to succeed Democrat Nancy Wyman as Connecticut’s lieutenant governor.

Joe Markley, Jayme Stevenson, and Erin Stewart are running to be the Republican candidate for lieutenant governor, while Susan Bysiewicz and Eva Bermudez-Zimmerman are running to be the Democratic candidate.


Four candidates — two Democrats and two Republicans — are seeking Denise Nappier’s office as Connecticut’s treasurer.

Shawn Wooden and Dita Bhargava will appear on the Democratic primary ballot, while Thad Gray and Art Linares will appear on the Republican ballot.

Attorney general

George Jepsen announced in November 2017 that he would not be seeking re-election as Connecticut’s attorney general, and there are now five candidates vying for the seat.

William Tong, Paul Doyle and Chris Mattei are seeking the Democratic nomination for attorney general, while Sue Hatfield and John Shaban are seeking the Republican nomination.


Republicans Kurt Miller and Mark Greenberg are seeking their party’s nomination for comptroller. The winner will run against incumbent comptroller, Democrat Kevin Lembo, in the November election.

U.S. senator

Matthew Corey and Dominic Rapini are seeking the Republican nomination for U.S. senator, and the winner will run against incumbent U.S. Sen.Chris Murphy, a Democrat, in November.

23rd District state senator

Democrats in the 23rd state senate district (covering Town Council districts 2, 3, and 4) will choose between endorsed candidate Dennis Bradley and Aaron Turner. Republicans will choose from endorsed candidate John Rodriguez and Casmir Mizera. All are running to succeed the retiring Sen. Ed Gomes.


Absentee ballots were made available in the town clerk’s office at town hall July 24. They must be received in the town clerk’s office no later than 4:30 p.m. on Aug. 14.

Sample Republican and Democratic primary ballots for Stratford are available on the Registrar of Voters web page.

About author

By participating in the comments section of this site you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and User Agreement

© HAN Network. All rights reserved. Stratford Star, 1000 Bridgeport Avenue, Shelton, CT 06484

Designed by WPSHOWER

Powered by WordPress